Deputy President Kicked Out Of Jubilee


The National Management Committee (NMC) has made a bold decision to remove Ruto as the Jubilee party’s deputy leader. The committee further forwarded the decision to the National Executive Council (NEC) chaired by the president.

The fate of Deputy President William Ruto as Jubilee Party deputy leader now lies with President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Uhuru’s allies in Jubilee have accused Ruto of sabotage and faulted his association with the United Democratic Alliance (UDA), an affiliate party of Jubilee.

Speaking with the standard, Jubilee’s Secretary General Raphael Tuju said that the NMC – the second most powerful organ of Jubilee Party – which sets the agenda for the NEC, resolved to fire Ruto as the deputy party leader.

“The NMC discussed the matter and resolved to remove the DP as per the party constitution. The matter is active, we have the recommendations of NMC and now only waiting for the party leader to convene an NEC meeting to deliberate on the matter,” said Tuju.

The secretary-general said the party leader could either call for the meeting or delegate the matter as was the case with the removal of Murang’a Senator Irungu Kang’ata as the Majority Whip when he chaired the Senate Parliamentary Group over breach of confidentiality.
This comes after Ruto’s ally and Jubilee Deputy Secretary-General Caleb Kositany was shown the door two weeks ago. Jubilee Vice Chairman David Murathe, while appearing on KTN News Cross-fire show, said Kositany would be

The dilemma is that NEC has not been convened since 2017, however, within this period, the Majority Leaders in both the National Assembly and Senate and their Majority Whips have been expelled for being disloyal and supporting the DP.

Some of the casualties in the UhuRuto war include former Cabinet Secretaries Rashid Echesa and Mwangi Kiunjuri. In Parliament, the ‘bloodbath’ swept away all Ruto allies from the House leadership and departmental committees.

They include MP Adan Duale (Garissa Township), Senator Kipchumba Murkomen and his Nakuru counterpart Susan Kihika, former Deputy Speaker Kithure Kindiki, MPs Ben Washialiand Cecily Mbarire (nominated).

By Teenie


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here